Governance Structure

The Regional Multidisciplinary Centre of Excellence (RMCE) is a not-for-profit organisation established under the Companies Act of Mauritius.

The shareholders of RMCE are the Government of Mauritius, the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa COMESA and the Indian Ocean Commission.

COMESA as a lead implementing REC’s and Mauritius as Host Country of the RMCE shall have permanent seats in the board.

At present, the Board of Directors is as follows:

Name of Directors
Representing institution
Deonanan (Raj) MAKOOND
University of Technology Mauritius (President of Board of Governors)
Chileshe Mpundu KAPWEPWE
COMESA (Secretary General)
Dhanjay JHURRY
University of Mauritius (Vice-Chancellor)
Ministry of Finance Mauritius (Acting Director for Econ. Coop & Int’l Affairs)
Narainduth BOODHOO
Ministry of Foreign Affairs Mauritius (Director of Trade Policy Unit)
Rajendranath (Raj) MOHABEER
Indian Ocean Commission (Head of Operations)
Namasivayen (Ken) POONOOSAMY
Economic Development Board (Ag CEO)
Ali Michael MANSOOR
Chairman (Bio Data)
Skip to content